Domaine de la Tour

OUR HISTORY


History

In the heart of the Avignon / Arles / Nîmes triangle, bordered by the Rhône canal in Sète, our wine estate extends over 50ha of vines of several grape varieties: Chardonnay, Sauvignon, Syrah, Grenache, Caladoc, Marselan, Cabernet-Sauvignon and Merlot. We produce two different appellations: Pays d'Oc, IGP and VDP du Gard.

Our estate is a very old stone farmhouse from Beaucaire. We have even found a lease signed in 1204 by Lord Raynoald de Meynes. The buildings are organised around a square courtyard. The estate had two dovecotes and large outbuildings.


The Terroir

Stony alluvium was deposited throughout the Rhône Valley during the Ice Age, which contributed to the formation of the exceptional soil of the region's vineyards. The terroir is composed of Villafranchian gravel (gress) resulting from alternating periods of warming and glaciation in the Quaternary era. These pebbles are often enveloped, to a thickness of 5 to 15 meters, in a sand whose colour varies from light yellow to dark red. We can also find a red clay bed called "gapan" in these soils, sometimes located on the surface, but most often in depth, and a kind of calcareous cement, "taparas", which binds the pebbles together. The composition of the soil allows rainwater to infiltrate the layer of pebbles, to collect in the gullies of impermeable grounds and to form a discontinuous water table.


The Cellar

Our vineyard, currently on 40ha of vines, which was once extended over more than 100ha of vines. Our winery is therefore very large compared to the current surface. Our vats are made of epoxy concrete, in an old stone cellar, which allows the temperatures to be kept constant during winter and summer and therefore ensure optimal conservation for our wines. The vines are harvested at night to allow the freshest possible grapes to enter and thus reduce the shock due to too sudden a cooling of temperatures.

en_GBEnglish
fr_FRFrench en_GBEnglish

Domaine de la Tour

L’HISTOIRE


Historique

Au coeur du triangle Avignon/Arles/Nîmes, longé par le canal du Rhône à Sète notre domaine viticole s’étend sur 40ha de vignes de plusieurs cépages : Chardonnay, Sauvignon, Syrah, Caladoc, Marselan, Cabernet-Sauvignon et Merlot. Nous produisons deux appellations différentes : Pays D’Oc, IGP et VDP Du Gard, IGP.

Notre domaine est un très vieux mas en pierres de Beaucaire. Nous avons retrouvé un bail signé en 1204 par le Seigneur Raynoald de Meynes. Les constructions sont organisées autour d’une cour carrée. Le domaine avait deux pigeonniers et de vastes dépendance


Le Terroir

Tout au long de la Vallée du Rhône, se sont déposés, à l’ère glaciaire, des alluvions caillouteux qui ont contribué à la formation du sol exceptionnel des vignobles de la région. Le terroir est composé de cailloutis villafranchiens (gress) résultant de périodes alternées de réchauffement et de glaciation à l’ère quaternaire.  Ces galets sont souvent enveloppés, sur une épaisseur de 5 à 15 mètres, dans un sable dont la couleur varie du jaune clair au rouge foncé. On trouve également dans ces sols un lit d’argile rouge appelé « gapan », situé parfois en surface, mais le plus souvent en profondeur et une sorte de ciment calcaire, le « taparas », qui lie les galets entre eux. La composition du sol permet aux eaux de pluie de s’infiltrer dans la couche de cailloux, de se rassembler dans les ravinements de terrains imperméables et de former une nappe phréatique discontinue.


Le Chai

Notre domaine viticole, actuellement sur 40ha de vignes, s’étendait jadis sur plus de 100ha de vignes. Notre cuverie est donc très importante par rapport à la surface actuelle. Nos cuves sont en béton époxitées, dans une cave ancienne en pierre, ce qui permet de conserver des températures peu variables entre l’hiver et l’été et donc assurer à nos vins une conservation optimale. Les vignes sont vendangées la nuit pour permettre de rentrer des grappes les plus fraîches possibles et diminuer ainsi le choc dû à un refroidissement trop brutal des températures.